

SCHOOL PLACEMENT PANEL

MINUTES

12 DECEMBER 2012

Chairman: † Councillor Krishna James

Councillors: * Mrs Camilla Bath * Asad Omar (Vice Chair in

Mrinal Choudhury (2) the Chair)

Co-optees: * Ms G Caroli – Grimsdyke School

* Mr E Lumley – Park High School

* Denotes Member present

(2) Denotes category of Reserve Members

280. Attendance by Reserve Members

RESOLVED: To note the attendance at this meeting of the following duly appointed Reserve Member:-

Ordinary Member Reserve Member

Councillor Krishna James Councillor Mrinal Choudhury

281. Declarations of Interest

RESOLVED: To note that the following interests were declared:

Agenda Item 8 – Admission to County Schools

Councillor Mrs Camilla Bath declared a non pecuniary interest in that she was a governor at Whitchurch First School and Nursery. She would remain in the room for the consideration of any cases relating to that school.

Councillor Mrinal Choudhury declared a non pecuniary interest in that he was a governor at Elmgrove Primary School. He would remain in the room for the consideration of any cases relating to that school.

Councillor Asad Omar declared a non pecuniary interest in the above item in that he was a governor at Nower Hill High School. He would remain in the room for the consideration of any cases relating to that school.

282. Minutes

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 28 November 2012 be taken as read and signed as a correct record.

283. Public Questions, Petitions and Deputations

RESOLVED: To note that no public questions, petitions or deputations were received at this meeting.

284. Dates of Future Meetings

RESOLVED: That the dates of future meetings of the Panel be noted.

285. Exclusion of the Press and Public

RESOLVED: That, in accordance with Part I of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following item for the reason set out below:

<u>Item</u>	<u>Title</u>	Reason
8.	Admission to County Schools	Information under paragraph 1 (contains information relating to any individual).

286. Admission to County Schools

In accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, cases P209, P210, P211, P212, P214, P216, P217, P218, P219, P220, P221, P222, P223, P224, P225 were admitted late to the agenda to allow the Panel to allocate an appropriate place to the applicants. It was noted that case numbers P208, P213 and P215 had been withdrawn as these pupils had been allocated school places prior to the meeting.

Letters and emails from the Headteachers at the following schools regarding pupil numbers at their schools were admitted late to the agenda to allow the Panel to consider the most up to date information:

Whitchurch Junior School, Whitchurch First School and Nursery, Stanburn Junior School, Pinner Park Infant & Nursery School, Aylward Primary School, Roxeth Primary School, Stanburn Infant School, Weald Infant School, West Lodge Primary School and Priestmead Primary School and Nursery. Letters and emails from Headteachers at Kenmore Park Infant and Nursery, Cedars

Manor and Belmont Schools, regarding pupil numbers at their schools were circulated at the meeting.

On 12 December 2012 there were 15 children for whom admissions staff could make no reasonable offer of a school place. The School Placement Panel was requested to recommend to the Corporate Director of Children and Families to authorise the admission of these pupils to a school where no places existed in the relevant year group.

Resolved to RECOMMEND: (to the Corporate Director of Children and Families)

That offers of admission to schools be made as follows:

<u>Reference</u>	Year Group	Admitting School
Dooo	D "	
P209	Reception	Stag Lane Infant and Nursery School
P210	1	Glebe Primary School
P211	1	Longfield Primary School
P212	1	Stanburn First School
P214	1	Norbury School
P216	1	Cedars Manor School
P217	1	Cedars Manor School
P218	1	Vaughan Primary School
P219	1	Weald Junior School
P220	1	Glebe Primary School
P221	2	Glebe Primary School
P222	3	Weald Junior School
P223	4	Vaughan Primary School
P224	4	Weald Junior School
P225	5	Glebe Primary School

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 10.30 am, closed at 10.50 am).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR ASAD OMAR Vice-Chairman in the Chair